40 Days of Joyful Living Series: Part 6

Isaiah 61:7 Instead of your shame you will receive a double portion, and
instead of disgrace
 you will rejoice in your inheritance. And so you will inherit
a double portion in your land, 
and everlasting joy will be yours. (NIV)

This scripture truly touched my heart today and I just had to share it with you. At the end of every year, I do some reflecting over what has happened in my life and what God has brought me through. For years I have been ashamed to share with others that not only have I experienced disgrace in my failed marriage, but I now live in public housing and I receive public assistance. Sometimes I receive a child support payment and sometimes I don’t and there have been times where I have had to decide if I should buy food or pay this bill. Even though I have a masters degree, I’m definitely not making a “masters degree income”.  It has been hard being a single parent over the past five years, but I am so thankful that God has been with me through every step of this humbling journey.

I just want to encourage you today as God has encouraged me, that regardless of your past and regardless of your present circumstance, God has an awesome blessing in store for  you. If you just hold on, trust God and believe in His promise today, then God will give you a double portion for the pain, heartache, and troubles you have gone through. Some of them you caused for yourself and some God allowed to happen. How do I know this? Because I’m going through the same thing. You’re not alone. I decree and I declare that one day,  you will rejoice in the inheritance God is currently preparing for you. Just be patient and stay humble because God resists the proud, but He gives grace to the humble (James 4:6).  Remember that God is for you. He is on your side. He has great things in store for you if you do not give up because He wants you to have everlasting joy as you live in your Promised land, your inheritance. I receive this for myself and my boys and I pray you will not only believe it, but you will throw your hands up to receive it because it’s yours.

My Joyful Day

20141223_124615It gives me great joy to look at pretty decorations. This is a door decorated with cool wrapping paper and a jingle bell wreath with pretty hot pink ribbon. It’s simple and pretty, which is what I enjoy about decorating. As you go out today, don’t worry about what you are going through, take the time to enjoy the simple pleasures in life. Be blessed and remember that God loves you.

Leave a comment